epiphany

My wheather forcast page says that it is -20 outside.. and in the car it read -13. I love minnesota and I love the snow but this weather is TOO COLD for me. don’t yah think eh!? lol

Tonight was my first night of  CREATIVE WRITING AND MEMIOR writing.  The first thing my professor mentioned to me is that she loved my name.. she went on saying “Lauren O’Leary” how “Lyrical” and for the first time I realized I do really like it.  In all of my 21 years.. I realized yeah..it is kinda cool. I always hated my last name and being asked how IRISH I was…

 In connection to her thoughts on my name……….. the professor made us all write about our names.. WHY our parents chose that name..if we were named after anything.. if we had nicknames growing up and if we would change it.. and what would we change it to. So.. It made me think about it….. and in doing this I also realized how intrigued I am with people…peoples stories , peoples lives, where they come from, who their parents are.  I could sit and listen to people talk about themselves for hours. I love learning about others..

I wrote this tonight…during a 10 minute excercise.  I finished it later when I got home.. because I didn’t feel like it was quite complete yet.  This will be turned in as my first journal entry.

I am the one who turns her dreams into reality.

I am the one who envisions her travels…likes to explore and wants to take trips.

I am the one who gets called “Lucky” but is really just blessed.

I am the one who dresses in black 5 days of the week to work at MAC between hennepin and Lake.

I am the one who adores family and would drop everything to see her brother perform.

I am the one who remembers to turn the lights off when she leaves, clean up her mess in the kitchen or send her boss a thank you.

I am the one who likes the quiet..the peaceful and still of night

I am the one who is not afraid of death and not afraid to cry.

I am the one who wants to feel LOVED more than I am liked  but I am ALSO the one who likes more than I love.

I am the one who laughs at jokes but doesn’t tell them

I am the one who is curious but not invasive.

I am the one who is willing but not sure if I’m ready.

I am the one who’s often called “innocent” but not at all naive.

I am the one who loves movies…fascinated by films and stories.

I am the one who is never thin enough, never rich enough and never satisfied but I am happy.

I am the one who knows I have lots to learn but also has a lot to teach.

I am the one who often lights candles at night and is content being alone.

I am the one who has a lot to say but often is hesitant to say it.

I am the one who drives off in her car when I want to find peace.

I am the one who has been hurt..but never broken.

I am the one who likes my coffee strong, and who believes sugar is never sweet enough.

I am the one who’s has much to share and intends to share it.

I am the one who has great, faith, passion and strength.

I am the one who’s lived ” the life” but is still very young.

 

Love,

LO

I would love to hear what some of you come up with about yourselves..respond to my post with 1 or a few of these same lines  I have written  beginning with I am the one who….so I can learn more about all of you who have taken time to read mine. (its fascinating to read what others write about themselves)

003

6 thoughts on “epiphany

  1. I am the one who can never love right, but is loved perfectly

    I am the one who enjoys, dreams, and aspires, but is often undisciplined, and unsatisfied

    I am the one who is firm, and will not be shaken

    I am the one who has never tasted death, and fears it’s expected arrival

    I am the one who has been redeemed from worry, and is always shown hope

  2. I am the one who runs away from problems, but get upset when others do.

    I am the one who selfishly looks for what I want, instead of what I need.

    I am the one who can spend hours at an art museum staring at only one piece of art.

    I am the one who tells jokes when uncomfortable, but get uncomfortable when others do the same.

    I am the one who easily gets lost in a world of Jack Johnson and Sophie Kinsella.

    I am the one who is picking up the pieces of a lost dream.

    I am the one who loves to laugh and loves to smile. “A day without laugher is a day wasted.”

    I am the one who has a phobia of birds, but still envies them.

    I am the one who cherishes my family and friends and would do anything to put a smile on their face or contentment in their hearts.

    I am the one who doesn’t allow myself to cry in front of others for fear of showing weakness, but admires those who can.

    I am the one who puts on a strong face and tackles any problem I am faced with – even though inside I am screaming with insecurity.

    I am one who can spend a whole day in Barnes and Noble and never get bored.

    I am the one who doesn’t know what I want in life, where I want to end up, or whether or not I want to do it alone or with someone by my side.

    I am the one who is saved by the grace of God and try to live through Him every day of my life.

    I am one who is not afraid of death, only afraid of leaving other’s behind.

  3. billy- I love the line redeemed from worry and always shown hope.. thats a good line. i need to see things that way! I also think that your lines say a lot about you..firm but not shaken shows your inner strength.
    Also, the fact that you admitted you are undisciplined but you still have dreams and aspirations. 🙂

    Jodie- beautiful job…your lines fit you to a T. It made me a little sad to see you write ..”picking up the pieces of a lost dream”. you know..God works in different ways. Theres reasoning behind all of it…and i know that YOU KNOW that. Its ok to feel like you had to let go of somthing…..just as long as you don’t KEEP holding onto it..you will eventually see why that door was closed.. and maybe it is not closed for good…maybe the timing is just not now.
    The line a “phobia of birds but still envies them” …I love that. reminds me of the notebook.. a little. not sure if you had that in mind..but it still reminds me of that.
    Love you.

  4. I am the one who never wanted children but now has an amazing daughter.

    I am the one who works in -30 degree temperatures but lives in one of the coldest states.

    I am the one who used to complain about people text messaging until I was able to use mine.

    I am the one who loves to be surrounded by people but cherishes those few moments alone.

    I am the one who cannot wait to finish school.

    I am the one who people come to for advice but I don’t think I have much advice to offer.

    I am the one who loves animals but doesn’t have the time or money to own one.

    I am the one who never knew what it was like to loose a loved one.

    I am the one who tries until I know in my heart it’s only best to let it go.

    I am the one who has good intentions and thoughts but doesn’t always act on them.

    I am the one who lives for that little girl.

    –Lauren I miss you a lot and I hope all is well!!

  5. Dana!
    I miss you too.. and hope that one day soon i can see you and your beautiful daughter.

    Thanks for responding to this.. I love it when people take time to think about these things that make them unique.. and we teach each other things by admitting and writing too.

    You made me think about “Blessings in disguise” when you talk about how you never even saw yourself having children to begin with and now you LIVE for your daughter.
    I have to keep reminding myself of this!! that.. even though somthing may not be how we Plan… it can be the greatest thing for us in the end. A true blessing.
    Anytime your in the cities…let me know.
    love ,
    me

  6. I am the one who likes your name too – it has a lovely sound to it.
    I am the one who disliked his middle name – James – for a very long time but has grown to appreciate it.
    I am the one who longs for love but too often doesn’t see it when it’s there for him…

Leave a Reply

