misunderstood?

I write as a release at times.. I write my feelings and thoughts (sometimes not well enough thought out and executed properly) .  This is in fact WHY I am learning how to be a better writer. 

Of course with any writing ..people are going to take your words and put them into their own context..or what they believe you are saying.  They will draw their own mental picture.  (so i have learned…I need to make the mental picture clearer). 

I do not have expectations that other people believe what I am saying or necessarily agree.  I write to write.  I write to release.  and .. I’m ALWAYS open to discussion.  Its what I believe helps me.

so.. tonight I will just say.

1.   I am LOVING my classes.. memoir and creative nonfiction, creative writing  and voice.  They all seem to connect and correlate somhow and I am loving it more and more everyday.

2.  I will be starting a study of Esther Wednesday.  I am really looking forward to this study as I have never really looked at this book of the bible and I know it is open for interpretation.

3. …………. good talks and Coffee shops are somthing I really treasure.

. goodnight everyone

God bless,

Lots of love

LO

7 thoughts on “misunderstood?

  1. First of all Lauren, what you are doing i.e., learning a clearer, more exacting manner of communication is to be admired. The fact that you care to know as much as you possibly can to improve your approach is always good, I believe, and it indicates, at least to me, an open mind. Open — for improvement. So many don’t care enough — to spend the time; nor do they see the “need” to improve their communication technique. Good communication skills; good oral skills; self-confidence all of this will stay with you and strengthen you in your person and in any job you chose to attempt down the line. Our society applaudes computer skills; math and science “know how” rather than the “arts”. As a society in general we do not communicate with one another. We do not have “time”. We have lost a lot over the past few decades. We have lost “personalization”. We have lost respect for the next person. We work so hard to make a living that we forget that we are people first and foremost.

    Regarding the book of Esther, perhaps you might enlighten me. I know little of her and yet I do know she was a tremendous Old Testament woman/leader in her own rite.

    I am a believer in communication.

    May God continue to bless you and your family.

  2. Thank you pat..
    Exactly what I was getting at is just this. I LOVE communication. The art of telling a story.. the art of Talking tanother to help enlighten someone else is a valuable thing. The “Personalization” you talk about HAS been lost.
    You are right when you say that we have become much more focused on work and things to take the Time for one another.
    So GREAT for making this connection to what I was writing.

    I also have been learning in Creative writing Just HOW IMPORTANT it is to be extremely descriptive to the senses. Taste, touch, sight , smell , and sound.
    I know how much writing is a passion of mine.. and also don’t want my words to be misinterpreted… If I say somthing that REALLY doesn’t seem right to someone I would Encourage them to speak up about it.( but thats not to say that we are going to AGREE on things) disagreeing is normal.

    I know I am not always going to make COMPLETE sense to everyone when I write…….and what I write is Always going to up for interpretation.

    thanks again.
    Laur

  3. also, i plan to use my study of esther and share anything I feel is valuable. I would love to talk about it more as I get deeper into the study.
    thanks for your love.

  4. Thats what blogging is all about! write what you want, and try and make it clear. If people disagree, then you can have fun debating or just not approve their comments!

    It’s an awesome deal

  5. I hope you don’t think i’m criticizing you. I am agreeing with you. Making sure my point is clear, and i get my message across is one thing i am obsessed with when i write. I get so worried that people are going to take away the wrong message. I like your writing. It is very clear.

    Just wanted to clear that up

  6. 1. I don’t think your being critical.
    2. Thanks for the complement… i try to write clearly so im glad you feel like you understand most the time.
    3. good critisism ..helpful critisism is good..even if you don’t agree..makes a person think! Im glad you take time to respond to my postings.

Leave a Reply

