Heat makes people crazy

Hey guys!!

90’s here in minnie….that’s pretty hottttt for May.ESPECIALLY considering I remember when my car said -5!!!!

I’ve been noticing some crazy driving going on…(like I said I had a little fender bender a few days ago) NOT GOOD!!005

Besides for the heat and my Zen Green Tea’s from Starbucks…….002

I’ve been noticing how GREEN everything is getting…….003

Minnesota really is beautiful.

My Vocabulary Class never ceases to teach me somthing new. My professor is good at explaining things in full detail and each day we learn new words. I think a few of my favorites I discovered today were…

  • Tautology-Noun.. Repetition or redundancy.
  • Lugubrious-Adjective…Mournful, dismal or gloomy.
  • Monolithic– Adjective…Massive, solid & Uniform.
  • Soporific– Adjective…Drowsy, sleepy
  • Superfluous-Adjective…Being beyond what is required or sufficient.
  • Tempestuous– Adjective…Tumultuous, stormy

Also by doing this I’m realizing Adjectives are usually the most fun parts of speech to say. I know how that sounds..pretty geeky. 🙂

Onto another topic.. music. Yesterday in my car I heard two songs that transported me right back to childhood memories. The first:  Kokomo by the beach boys. Ahhhh yes. That song will ALWAYS remind me of me and my elementry school friends making up dances in my living room. 

As a child I used to make up dances a lot. This was mostly through elementry school. I remember pulling this giant wood table we had into the living and standing on it like it was a stage with a friend or two and making up dances as the song played.. MANY songs we would do this to,  but Kokomo will always remind me most of dancing.

The other song was Sophie B. Hawkins..As I lay me down. Remember this one….

As I lay me down to sleep
This I pray
That you will hold me dear
Though I’m far away
I’ll whisper your name into the sky
And I will wake up happy

I wonder why I feel so high
Though I am not above the sorrow
Heavy hearted
Till you call my name
And it sounds like church bells
Or the whistle of a train
On a summer evening
I’ll run to meet you
Barefoot barely breathing

 I think in 3rd grade I listened to this song about 800 times over and over again.. ALL my friends liked it at the time.  It’s funny to think back to songs and music that you liked then and how they stay with you.

Well I have to get back to Vocab study.

What are your most memorable childhood songs?? ( FYI these are not my FAVORITES…..these two are just very memorable. When it comes to music …theres too many good songs to name Favorites.)

Love, Lo

4 thoughts on “Heat makes people crazy

  1. Hi Lauren, its funny that you chose a topic like music that we grew up to. When I was in about 8th grade perhaps 7th “Herman’s Hermits” came out with a tune which was so popular. The title was “I’m Henry (said like Henerey) the VIII” … I had a crush .. a young girls crush on Peter Noone. I thought he was so cute and that accent was the best.

    Much after that when I was in highschool I really, really liked the “Carpenter’s”. I so liked Karen’s gifted mello voice with its low tone but relaxing peacefulness. Up until her, I pretty much thought women’s voices were “meant” to always be high/soprano. Karen was different for me. I liked her. She seemed a little sad or subdued much of the time. But I liked the calm.

    1. PS: Regarding music, would you tell me how you felt about the American Idol results? Who were your “winners”?

  2. I seem to have answered your ‘music’ question under the entirely wrong heading. I apologize.

    So sorry to hear of your ‘fender bender’. Heat does have an effect upon people and I believe it effects them in many different ways. We haven’t had 95 degree weather yet but it has hit the 90’s.

  3. 95 degrees is hot!
    It hasn’t quite reached the 90s here yet. I wish it had!
    Glad you’re well. Sorry about the fender bender..

Leave a Reply

