My Interview Questions for Makeup Artist Jemma Kidd

Hi Guys!

A couple of days ago I shared with you my interview with Petra Strand of Pixi Makeup. The fabulous thing is…I had an opportunity to ask some other makeup artist and hair stylists some of those same questions.

The interview  I want to share with you today is with Makeup Artist, Jemma Kidd. I asked her four questions I wanted to know…enjoy! 🙂

Jemma,

1. How do you get your inspiration for your spring/summer collections? 

I’m inspired by so many things: fashion, film, books, art, nature, different cultures, people, photography… the list is endless! London is also a constant source of inspiration. Just walking through the streets you’re exposed to so many different styles and influences.

 

2. What is your favorite spring/summer 2011 trend?

There’s no escaping the trend for bold, bright lip colour this spring/summer. Lips were making a statement on the catwalks in an array of tutti-frutti shades; from juicy pink pouts at Jil Sander and Diane von Furstenberg to tangerine hues that looked good enough to eat at Marni. This season, the finish is all-important too – think matte with crisp, well-defined edges – so dig out your lip liner! Pair with polished skin and just a slick of mascara for effortless elegance.

 

3. As a creative person, what are some other creative things you like to do?

If I wasn’t a make-up artist, I would have loved to have been an artist. It’s difficult to find the time to paint now though – I had twins 18 months ago, so when I’m not working, every spare moment is spent enjoying time with my babies and my husband at our home in the country.

 

4. What is your top beauty tip? It can be anything.  

Some lipsticks look fantastic in the tube, but look very different once applied, due to the natural pink colouring of the lips. To counteract this, dab a touch of foundation over lips to neutralise the colour, then apply your lipstick on top. You’ll get the true shade that way, which is especially important if you’re recreating this season’s ‘statement lip’ trend.

Thank you SO much Jemma!

Jemma Kidd is sold at Target stores…here is the website: http://www.jemmakidd.com/

Love, Lauren

Leave a Reply

