Interview with Make up Artist and Beauty Expert Mickey Williams

HI!

Enjoy my interview with celebrity make up artist and beauty expert Mickey Williams. I hope you get some tips from her!

Mickey,
 1. What 5-10 makeup or hair products are in your everyday routine?

I get so many products to try out and a lot of them are good but the ones that are great stay in my makeup bag whether traveling or not. I become obsessed. Currently I am on the road in Seattle and here is what is in my bag:

1: SkinCeuticals
Blemish + Age Defense
http://www.skinceuticals.com/_us/_en/catalog/correct/blemish-age-defense.htm

Let’s face it, I am not getting any younger but skin seems to think I am still at the age for blemishes. I am telling you right now this stuff works at keeping the bumps at bay and I use it religiously. The bottle lasts too.

2: Rembrandt Intense
Stain Tooth Paste

http://www.rembrandtboutique.com/detail/TCL+4933644700

I became a fan over a year ago and it helps keep my teeth bright through the periods before and after my whitening routine.

3: Cristophe Argan Oil treatment http://www.cvs.com/CVSApp/catalog/shop_product_detail.jsp?filterBy=&skuId=801413&productId=801413&navAction=push&navCount=1&no_new_crumb=true

Basically I do not think you would be able to get a brush through my hair without this in my beauty bag. I will even apply to my ends before a flight so they do not get even more dried out. Plus I love turning my clients on to it since you can get it at the CVS down the street.

4: Naturopathica Vitamin K Brightening Serum

http://www.naturopathica.com/products/eye_care/32-vitamin_k_brightening_eye_serum

It just makes your eyes look more hydrated and brighter. It works great under makeup and doesn’t
ball up when applying concealer or powder over it. LOVE IT!

5: Donna Karen Cashmere Mist Ultimate Moisturizing Bronzing Gelee

http://www1.bloomingdales.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=531965&cm_mmc=Froogle-_-n-_-n-_-n

It makes anyone’s pale legs, bad spray tan, or scarring look absolutely tan-fabulous perfect. It doesn’t transfer too much and smells of the Cashmere fragrance to boot.

6: Physicians Formula Eye Booster 2-in-1 lash boosting eyeliner and serum

http://www.physiciansformula.com/en-us/productdetail/new-products/pencils_liners/07365.html

AMAZING! The thinnest brush tip liner I have seen in a mass market brand and it has sim peptide to
enhance lashes and also contains the long wearing Japanese formula that does not smudge.

7: Mister Bright by Givenchy

http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P129610&om_mmc=esv103264-GG&om_kwpur=341488575&ppc_crid=5929032137&sbanner=us_search&esvcid=S1307561631_ADOGOB_AGI3733503_CRE5929032137_TID341488575_RFDd3d3Lmdvb2dsZS5jb20%3d

The best little twist pen concealer on the market. Lightweight formula that vanishes but still conceals. Tons of colors to choose from and the brush is smooth and targeted.

8: DermaQuest Skin Therapy Breathable Coverage SPF 30 Mineral Foundation

http://www.dermaminerals.com/face/breathable-coverage-mineral-foundation-spf-30

Basically anywhere I go this is in my bag. It offers UVA and UVB protection plus it stays on and in place for hours and hours.

9: Elnett Satin Hair Spray

http://www.cvs.com/CVSApp/catalog/shop_product_detail.jsp;jsessionid=nGPSMblTw1mxNLQDZtR11hQQ8yph87Z6jd0cfsr3dc0TV2z0kCqQ!506405230?filterBy=&skuId=719549&productId=719549&navAction=jump&navCount=3

It’s the best at holding a style even through humidity but then at the end of the day it brushes right out.

2. As a creative person, what are some other creative things you like to do?

I absolutely love exercise and all things that simply make you feel more balanced. I was finding that work was eating up all my time last year and I made a swift change to be more centered with my body and energy. I cannot tell you how open and fresh my thoughts are due to this. I also like to walk everywhere. Sometimes with music and sometimes open eared to hear all the sounds. I love culture and find neighborhoods and different cities to be moving art. it’s great to observe as an onlooker and take in the different styles and nuances.

3. What advice would you give to aspiring makeup artists?

Try every form of media you can when starting out. Meaning, fashion shoots, fill, TV, politics.
You will find yourself naturally settling into a groove that will work best with your time and talent. Also, be prepared to go to work for free when you start out. You will have to hustle and keep your eyes out for upcoming talent like yourself. Ask to see a photographers’ work before you give your services for testing purposes. Even if they are starting off as well, you can see their eye and talent and see if they are someone you want to grow with. My last advice may sound jaded but artists in this industry can be petty and cutthroat, trust your gut and still keep your eyes wide open. You will need to keep your focus on the job and get in and get out in order to succeed.

4. What is your top beauty tip? It can be anything….

My top beauty tip is centered around two but they really go hand in hand.

– There are NO rules in makeup. No right way to use the brush or color to apply. If you get what you want in the outcome it doesn’t matter how you got there.

-It’s also very important to realize that everything takes practice. Makeup takes practice. No one walk in on face #1 and applies a perfect false lash. It takes patience and investment. If you want a certain look, your eye and technique will aim for it with practice.

5. Tell me about one memorable job experience…

Celebrities are beautiful and used to getting makeup. They also are busy so you usually have to turn and burn them out and little talking or feedback is given until the end. It’s always nice to have a big name in your chair but people who are in a life process have always been my most memorable experiences. I worked with someone who was experiencing the hard road of chemotherapy recently and taught a beautiful woman how to draw the perfect brow and set a perfect lash. We even did wig placement. After we were finished we did it all over again just to make sure she really had the hang of it. These kinds of jobs give back confidence to those in need and help me feel like today wasn’t just about a superficial
transformation. It reached deeper.

Thank you so much Mickey!

Love, Lauren

Leave a Reply

