Must Read This Book : Girl Perfect by Jennifer Strickland

I’ve always wanted to write a book…to tell my story that I hope would help encourage and lift up girls everywhere. I’ve been through a lot in my 25 years. I know, I know, I sound like an old lady telling you how much I’ve experienced in my life. But, I’m not ashamed, I do feel that way.

Never in my life have I heard a story so similar to mine. One that touched me so deeply it made me bawl my eyes out. I recently finished reading Jennifer Strickland’s book ” Girl Perfect”. It is a true story about her life as a model and how she found God, accepted Christ as her Savior and changed her path. While some thought she was living a luxurious, dreamy life of a model, she was dying. She was dying because of her lifestyle and the things she was choosing to fill her time with. After finding out the true perfect one, God, and trying to stop being perfect herself and live up to everyone else’s desires and wants she FREED herself and found happiness and fufillment. All she wanted was to be loved.

I think so many of us can relate to feeling like we are not good enough, we are not perfect enough, we’re always chasing the ideal IMAGE of beauty, but instead we should be looking to the one who is truly beautiful and who created us, GOD. He will fufill all of our needs, he will make our paths perfect, he will guide, protect, love, and care for us. We just need to CHOOSE HIM!

This book is a MUST READ. It is truly one of the best books I’ve read and so similar to all of the feelings and experiences I went through while I was modeling in New York. Her story has differences than mine, but her reasoning was the exact reasoning I left the industry as well. It was a destructive life; a life I would have never found happiness. I was sick of living up to other peoples expectations, being picked apart for each aspect of the way you look ALL the time, only being known for my pictures, the way I look. I was struggling from an eating disorder and knew I was dying in the process, knowing that if I stayed in New York and kept up all of the same habits, I would die. I was not living. I was trying to be perfect.

I had to completely turn away from it all and start new. I wanted something normal. I wanted to feel FREE TO BE ME and not constantly called on castings to be rejected and accepted, up and down; I was on a roller coaster.

Please read this book…it will really make you think, hopefully inspire you and also share with you SO MANY TRUTHS. You can find it on Amazon here: http://www.amazon.com/Girl-Perfect-imperfect-perfection-confessions/dp/1599793431/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1344995803&sr=8-1&keywords=girl+perfect

Someday, hopefully soon… I will write a book. My story..a very true and honest story.

Love,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

